dungog Museum, nsw, AustraliA

105 Dowling Street, Dungog

Collecting, Preserving and Interpreting Local History and Heritage for Everyone


Brandy, the last of a tribe

Brandy, the last of a tribe

old_bicycle.jpg

The Museum is managed by the Dungog Historical Society Inc.

Opening times: Wednesday 10am till 12.30pm and Saturday 10am till 2pm
Entry fees: Adults $3. Families $6. School Groups $2 per person
Main Street walks or Guided Tours for visiting coaches, $5/person (inc. Museum entry)

The Museum opens at other times by arrangement. Please contact us.

On display at the Museum are items that showcase Dungog’s history and heritage. The collection reflects its rural background, the timber industry and local businesses.  Household items from the past are on view, as well as a range of medical and dental equipment from bygone eras. The Society also has an extensive photographic collection.


Some items are unique, such as the 3m section of wooden pipe that was used to supply water to Newcastle from the Chichester Dam. The original first 9 miles of the pipe was made from timber, it was built towards the end of WWI when metal was in short supply.

Some items are unique, such as the 3m section of wooden pipe that was used to supply water to Newcastle from the Chichester Dam. The original first 9 miles of the pipe was made from timber, it was built towards the end of WWI when metal was in short supply.

 
 
The Brady brothers, Jack, Sam, Bert and Alick. Sam died on 7th August 1915, having been wounded while fighting at Gallipoli.

The Brady brothers, Jack, Sam, Bert and Alick. Sam died on 7th August 1915, having been wounded while fighting at Gallipoli.

lest we forget

The Memorial Town Hall and Council Chambers (now the Dungog Memorial RSL Club) was built to honour the local men who had died. Its construction was largely funded by public donations. It was opened on the 4 September 1920.